Robinson On Doak Walker Watch List

Share on Fancred
Print RSS

Junior Josh Robinson was named to the Doak Walker Award Watch List on Thursday.
Photo Courtesy of Mansel Guerry

DALLAS – For the first time in his career, junior Josh Robinson earned a place on the Doak Walker Award Watch List, according to an announcement from the PwC SMU Athletic Forum on Thursday.

The Doak Walker Award, in its 25th year, is presented annually to the nation’s top running back. The award is named for SMU’s three-time All-America running back Doak Walker. It is the only major collegiate award that requires all candidates to be in good academic standing and on schedule to graduate within one year of other students of the same classification.

Robinson, one of 53 student-athletes to earn the preseason watch list selection, enters his junior year averaging a robust 6.0 yards per rush and 8.2 yards per reception. He has totaled 136 rushing yards in two bowl games, averaging 13.6 yards a carry. Overall, Robinson has played in 25 career games with two starts.

The Franklinton, La., native finished as the 2013 squad’s third-leading rusher with 459 yards on 78 carries. He averaged 5.9 yards per carry and tied for second on the team with three rushing scores. Robinson contributed as a receiving threat out of the backfield, hauling in 12 passes for 115 yards, an average of 9.6 yards per reception. He broke through with his first career 100-yard rushing game in a key overtime victory at Arkansas on Nov. 23.

The PwC SMU Athletic Forum Board of Directors will name the semifinalists for the award on Nov. 18. The Doak Walker Award National Selection Committee will vote to determine the finalists, who will be announced Nov. 24. The committee will cast a second vote beginning on Dec. 1 to determine the recipient. The National Selection Committee consists of former NFL All-Pro and college All-America running backs, media members and selected special representatives.

The recipient of the 2014 Doak Walker Award will be announced live on The Home Depot College Football Awards on Dec. 11, on ESPN. The Doak Walker Award Presentation Banquet will be held in Dallas in February 2015.

For all-access information to MSU football, follow the team on social media at and

MSU Players on 2014 NCFAA Watch Lists

Maxwell Award: Dak Prescott

Bednarik Award: Benardrick McKinney

Hornung Award: Jameon Lewis

Mackey Award: Malcolm Johnson

Rimington Trophy: Dillon Day

Nagurski Trophy: Benardrick McKinney

Butkus Award: Benardrick McKinney

Lombardi Award: Benardrick McKinney

Lombardi Award: Chris Jones

Biletnikoff Award: Jameon Lewis

Davey O'Brien Award: Dak Prescott

Doak Walker Award: Josh Robinson


Uploaded Ad
Maroon Friday - William Wells Tire
Maroon Friday - Firehouse Subs
Maroon Friday - Stromboli's
Maroon Friday - Northeast Mississippi Exterminating
Jimmy Johns Maroon Friday
Maroon Friday - Brian Michael's
Copy Cow
Hungry Howies
Aspen Bay
Maroon Friday - Deep South Pout
Penn's Maroon Friday
MSU Athletics
Best Western
Farm Bureau
Gray Daniels
MSU Athletics
Prime Sport Travel Packages
Vivid Seats