Auction mm

Prescott Picks Up Two Honors

Share on Fancred
Print RSS

Junior Dak Prescott was placed on the Davey O'Brien Award Watch List and was a nominee for the Allstate AFCA Good Works Team.
Photo Courtesy of Bill Simmonds

STARKVILLE, Miss. – A busy week for Mississippi State junior quarterback Dak Prescott continued Wednesday with two more honors. Prescott, who attended the Southeastern Conference Media Days on Tuesday, was named to the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award Watch List and was nominated for the Allstate American Football Coaches Association (AFCA) Good Works Team.

The Davey O’Brien Foundation placed 39 players on its watch list for the nation’s top college quarterback. Prescott is one of 13 juniors, and one of five SEC signal callers, to be selected.

The Allstate AFCA Good Works Team is one of the most coveted and prestigious off-the-field honors in college football. The award recognizes student-athletes whose charitable involvement and community service contributions stand out. Prescott is one of 182 nominees for the 2014 season.

On the field, Prescott was the most valuable player of the 2013 AutoZone Liberty Bowl. He enters 2014 as the Bulldogs’ full-time starting quarterback a year after completing 156-of-267 passes for 1,940 yards with 10 touchdowns. A dual threat, Prescott accounted for a team-best 829 rushing yards on 134 carries with 13 scores.

Prescott shattered the MSU single-season record for quarterback rushing yards while the 13 rushing scores were the second most by a signal caller in Bulldog history. The Haughton, La., product accounted for 25 touchdowns in 2013, good for the second most in a year in program history.

Within the Starkville community, Prescott served as a bell ringer for the Salvation Army during the holiday season and assisted with tornado relief efforts in Mississippi in May. Outside the local area, he visited with patients at St. Jude Children’s Hospital in Memphis, Tenn., Dec. of 2013.

For the Davey O’Brien Award, quarterbacks from all 125 NCAA Division I Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) schools are eligible until the field is narrowed to 16 semifinalists on Nov. 3. The Davey O’Brien Foundation and selection committee will announce three finalists on Nov. 24. The winner will be announced on The Home Depot College Football Awards Show to be broadcast from 7-9 p.m. ET on ESPN.

The Allstate AFCA Good Works Team comprises 11 FBS players and 11 players from the NCAA Football Championship Subdivision, Divisions II, III and the NAIA. The final roster of 22 award recipients will be unveiled in September. A special voting panel consisting of former Allstate AFCA Good Works Team members and prominent college football media members will select the 2014 squad.

For all-access information to MSU football, follow the team on social media at and

MSU Players on 2014 NCFAA Watch Lists

Maxwell Award: Dak Prescott

Bednarik Award: Benardrick McKinney

Hornung Award: Jameon Lewis

Mackey Award: Malcolm Johnson

Rimington Trophy: Dillon Day

Nagurski Trophy: Benardrick McKinney

Butkus Award: Benardrick McKinney

Lombardi Award: Benardrick McKinney

Lombardi Award: Chris Jones

Biletnikoff Award: Jameon Lewis

Davey O'Brien Award: Dak Prescott


Uploaded Ad
Maroon Friday - William Wells Tire
Maroon Friday - Firehouse Subs
Maroon Friday - Stromboli's
Maroon Friday - Northeast Mississippi Exterminating
Jimmy Johns Maroon Friday
Maroon Friday - Brian Michael's
Copy Cow
Hungry Howies
Aspen Bay
Maroon Friday - Deep South Pout
Penn's Maroon Friday
MSU Athletics
Best Western
Farm Bureau
Gray Daniels
MSU Athletics
Prime Sport Travel Packages
Vivid Seats