Lewis On Biletnikoff Award Watch List

Share on Fancred
Send this article to a friend Print RSS

Senior Jameon Lewis was placed on the Biletnikoff Award Watch List.
Photo Courtesy of Bill Simmonds

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – For the first time in his career, Mississippi State senior receiver Jameon Lewis has earned a place on the Biletnikoff Award Watch List, according to an announcement from the Tallahassee Quarterback Club (TQC) Foundation, Inc., on Tuesday. The award annually recognizes the outstanding receiver in collegiate football.

Lewis is one of 55 student-athletes on the Biletnikoff Award Watch List. Earlier in July Lewis was selected to the watch list for the Hornung Award, which honors college football’s most versatile player.

An electrifying playmaker, Lewis is considered one of the SEC’s top slot receivers and serves as MSU’s primary weapon on special teams. He has played in all 39 games during his career, totaling 2,819 all-purpose yards.

As a receiver, Lewis has recorded 81 catches for 1,174 yards and six touchdowns. He broke out as a pass catcher in 2013, finishing with 64 receptions for 923 yards and five receiving scores. The 64 receptions are the second most in school history while the 923 yards are fourth in MSU annals. The Tylertown, Miss., product ranked sixth in the SEC in receiving yards per game (71.0) and fifth in the league in receptions per contest (4.9). Lewis was named the most outstanding offensive player of the 2013 AutoZone Liberty Bowl after accounting for an MSU and Liberty Bowl record 220 receiving yards on nine catches.

The TQC will announce the 10 Biletnikoff Award semifinalists on Nov. 17 following the vote by the 221 members of the Biletnikoff Award National Selection Committee. Likewise, the three finalists will be declared following another vote on Nov. 24.

The 2014 Biletnikoff Award winner will be presented live on Dec. 11 on The Home Depot College Football Awards Show to be broadcast from 7-9 p.m. ET on ESPN. College and Pro Football Hall of Famer Fred Biletnikoff will announce the 2014 winner on the show.

MSU Players on 2014 NCFAA Watch Lists

Maxwell Award: Dak Prescott

Bednarik Award: Benardrick McKinney

Hornung Award: Jameon Lewis

Mackey Award: Malcolm Johnson

Rimington Trophy: Dillon Day

Nagurski Trophy: Benardrick McKinney

Butkus Award: Benardrick McKinney

Lombardi Award: Benardrick McKinney

Lombardi Award: Chris Jones

Biletnikoff Award: Jameon Lewis


Distance Ed- Earn Degree
Columbus Orthopaedic
Maroon Friday - Aspen Bay
Penn's Maroon Friday
Maroon Friday - Cake Box
Maroon Friday - Iupe's
Maroon Friday - William Wells Tire
Maroon Friday - Libby Story
Maroon Friday - Cappe's
Maroon Friday - The Little Dooey
Maroon Friday - Firehouse Subs
Maroon Friday - Juva Juice
Maroon Friday - Shipley's
Maroon Friday - Stagger In
Maroon Friday - Stromboli's
Maroon Friday - Dave's Darkhorse Tavern
Maroon Friday - Deep South Pout
Maroon Friday - Northeast Mississippi Exterminating
Jimmy Johns Maroon Friday
Maroon Friday - Old Venice
MSU Athletics
Best Western
Dawg House
Farm Bureau
Gray Daniels
MSU Athletics
Prime Sport Travel Packages
Vivid Seats