McKinney Earns Spot on Nagurski Trophy Watch List

Share on Fancred
Print RSS

Photo Courtesy of

DALLAS – For the second time this week, Mississippi State junior linebacker Benardrick McKinney has earned watch list recognition for a national individual award as the Bronko Nagurski Trophy unveiled its 81 candidates for the 2014 season, the Football Writers Association of America unveiled Thursday.

The Narguski Trophy has been awarded to the National Defensive Player of the Year every season since 1993.

McKinney, a native of Tunica, Miss., enters his junior campaign having started 23 consecutive games and tallying 173 career tackles. The 6-foot-5 McKinney was the Bulldogs leading tackler a season ago with 71 stops, including seven for loss. The All-America candidate was also named to the Bednarik Award watch list on Monday.

McKinney will join teammates Dak Prescott, Jay Hughes and coach Dan Mullen at Southeastern Conference Media Day next Tuesday in Hoover, Ala.

The Bronko Nagurski Trophy winner will be chosen from five finalists who are part of the 2014 FWAA All-America Team. The FWAA All-America Committee, after voting input from the association's entire membership, selects the 26-man All-America Team and eventually the Nagurski finalists. Committee members, then by individual ballot, select the winner.

The annual Bronko Nagurski Trophy Banquet will be held on Dec. 8 at the Westin Hotel in Charlotte.

For all-access information to MSU football, follow the team on social media at and

MSU Players on 2014 NCFAA Watch Lists
Maxwell Award: Dak Prescott
Bednarik Award: Benardrick McKinney
Hornung Award: Jameon Lewis
Mackey Award: Malcolm Johnson
Rimington Trophy: Dillon Day
Nagurski Trophy: Benardrick McKinney

Uploaded Ad
Maroon Friday - William Wells Tire
Maroon Friday - Firehouse Subs
Maroon Friday - Stromboli's
Maroon Friday - Northeast Mississippi Exterminating
Jimmy Johns Maroon Friday
Maroon Friday - Brian Michael's
Copy Cow
Hungry Howies
Aspen Bay
Maroon Friday - Deep South Pout
Penn's Maroon Friday
MSU Athletics
Best Western
Farm Bureau
Gray Daniels
MSU Athletics
Prime Sport Travel Packages
Vivid Seats