Three Former MSU Bulldogs Claim Super Bowl Rings

Share on Fancred
Send this article to a friend Print RSS

Photo Courtesy of

EAST RUTHERFORD, N.J. – Three former Mississippi State Bulldog football standouts – linebacker K.J. Wright, wide receiver Arceto Clark and defensive tackle Dewayne Cherrington – are Super Bowl champions as their Seattle Seahawks dominated the Denver Broncos, 43-8, in Super Bowl XLVIII on Sunday in Met Life Stadium.

MSU is one of three Southeastern Conference schools to have three representatives on the Seahawks, joining Texas A&M and South Carolina. With the trio’s triumph, a combined 18 Super Bowl rings by 17 different Mississippi State players have been claimed in the program’s history.

Wright earned the start at linebacker and was a catalyst in limiting the NFL’s most prolific offense to a season-low eight points while forcing four turnovers. Wright, who played for MSU from 2007-10, notched seven tackles – five of the solo variety – and one tackle for loss. That output was his highest total since recording nine tackles in week 11 of the regular season against Minnesota.

Wright finished the year as the Seahawks fourth-leading tackler with 89 and that included missing a month with a broken bone in his foot.

As members of the practice squad, both Clark and Cherrington will receive Super Bowl rings as well. At least one former Bulldog has won a ring in three out of the last Super Bowls dating back to the 2010 regular season.

The Seahawks set the tone early, forcing a safety on the opening play from scrimmage and opening a 22-0 lead at halftime.

Best Western Baseball 2015
Distance Ed- Earn Degree
Columbus Orthopaedic
Maroon Friday - Aspen Bay
Jimmy Johns Maroon Friday
Maroon Friday - Cake Box
Maroon Friday - Iupe's
Maroon Friday - William Wells Tire
Maroon Friday - Libby Story
Maroon Friday - Cappe's
Maroon Friday - The Little Dooey
Maroon Friday - Firehouse Subs
Maroon Friday - Juva Juice
Maroon Friday - Shipley's
Maroon Friday - Stagger In
Maroon Friday - Stromboli's
Maroon Friday - Dave's Darkhorse Tavern
Maroon Friday - Deep South Pout
Maroon Friday - Northeast Mississippi Exterminating
Maroon Friday - Old Venice
MSU Athletics
Best Western
Dawg House
Farm Bureau
Gray Daniels
MSU Athletics
Vivid Seats