Jackson Named First Kent Hull Trophy Winner

Share on Fancred
Send this article to a friend Print RSS

Senior offensive lineman Gabe Jackson was named the first Kent Hull Trophy winner.
Photo Courtesy of Mansel Guerry

STARKVILLE, Miss. – The accolades continue to pour in for Gabe Jackson.

On Wednesday, the standout guard was tabbed the first winner of the Kent Hull Trophy as Mississippi’s most outstanding collegiate offensive lineman.

Jackson will receive the Kent Hull Trophy at the C Spire Conerly Trophy banquet Tuesday night at the Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame and Museum in Jackson.

Jackson, a fifth-year senior from Liberty, also has been named State’s finalist for the C Spire Conerly Trophy, while also being named the SEC’s offensive lineman of the week three times this season.

 “It's such an honor to be named the top offensive linemen in the state, and for the award to be named in honor of a Mississippi State guy is even more special,” Jackson said. “But I really have to give credit to my teammates and coaches. It's all about team, and everyone works together to make sure we get better each day. That's what has made this place special since I've been here."

The Hull Trophy winner was selected by a panel of experts, including former professional scouts, former college players and former coaches, including Hall of Famers Jim Carmody, Tom Goode and Hamp Cook.

Gabe Jackson was like a man among boys; he just dominated whomever he faced,” said Carmody, the former Southern Miss head coach, who also coached at State and Ole Miss and coached and scouted in the NFL.

Jackson has not allowed a sack all season and has graded out a champion (80 percent or above) in every State game.

"Gabe is the reason coaches come to work every day,” John Hevesy, MSU’s offensive line coach said. “In five years with Gabe, there has never been a moment he hasn't given me and Mississippi State everything he has to give. He has worked relentlessly to become a great player. There is no doubt he is one of the best offensive linemen in the country and very deserving to be the first recipient of the Kent Hull Award. You are going to see a lot more of Gabe Jackson on Sundays."

Ole Miss freshman offensive tackle Laremy Tunsil and Belhaven senior guard Matt Hall both received strong consideration for the award.

“Gabe has been a special player from the first day he stepped on campus," MSU coach Dan Mullen said. "Every day at practice, he gives us everything we ask of him and more. He never takes a day, off and he always strives to get better. I can't imagine anyone more deserving of this award than Gabe. He's certainly earned every recognition he gets."



Best Western Baseball 2015
Distance Ed- Earn Degree
Columbus Orthopaedic
Maroon Friday - Aspen Bay
Jimmy Johns Maroon Friday
Maroon Friday - Cake Box
Maroon Friday - Iupe's
Maroon Friday - William Wells Tire
Maroon Friday - Libby Story
Maroon Friday - Cappe's
Maroon Friday - The Little Dooey
Maroon Friday - Firehouse Subs
Maroon Friday - Juva Juice
Maroon Friday - Shipley's
Maroon Friday - Stagger In
Maroon Friday - Stromboli's
Maroon Friday - Dave's Darkhorse Tavern
Maroon Friday - Deep South Pout
Maroon Friday - Northeast Mississippi Exterminating
Maroon Friday - Old Venice
MSU Athletics
Best Western
Dawg House
Farm Bureau
Gray Daniels
MSU Athletics
Vivid Seats