Russell Named To 2013 Walter Camp Award Watch List

Share on Fancred
Send this article to a friend Print RSS

Photo Courtesy of

STARKVILLE, Miss. – Mississippi State senior quarterback Tyler Russell was named to the 2013 Walter Camp Award Watch List, the Walter Camp Foundation announced Friday. The award, which is presented annually to the nation’s most outstanding collegiate football player, is the fourth-oldest individual college football honor in the country.

Russell was named to the lineup two days after being selected to the watch list for the Davey O’Brien Award, which is given yearly to the nation’s best college quarterback and is the oldest national quarterback award. Last week, the Meridian, Miss., native also became the first player in school history to appear in consecutive years on the watch list for the Maxwell Award, which since 1937 has been awarded annually to America’s College Player of the Year.

State’s signal caller set 11 single-season school records in 2012, completing 231 throws for 2,897 yards and two-dozen touchdowns. The 6-4, 220-pounder enters his senior season as the school’s all-time leader in passing efficiency (136.38), and is only one passing touchdown away from the tying the school record for passing touchdowns (38), held by Derrick Taite (1993-96).

As a whole, the Bulldogs are represented on 11 of the 15 National College Football Awards Association watch lists, with eight players representing the Maroon and White.

Russell and the rest of his teammates begin the 2013 season on August 31 in Houston, Texas, at Reliant Stadium against Oklahoma State. The Texas Kickoff Classic is set for a 2:30 p.m. kickoff and will be televised live nationally on either ABC or ESPN2. For more information on the Maroon and White, follow the program on Twitter at @MStateFB, like the team on Facebook at and join the squad on Instagram at

2013 Mississippi State Preseason Honors (as of July 19, 2013)

Denico Autry
All-SEC: Athlon Sports (Third Team), Phil Steele (Third Team)

Dillon Day
Rimington Trophy Watch List

Gabe Jackson
Outland Trophy Watch List
Rotary Lombardi Award Watch List
All-American: Phil Steele (Second Team), Athlon Sports (Third Team)
All-SEC: Athlon Sports (First Team), Birmingham News (First Team), Phil Steele (First Team), SEC Media (First Team)
Best SEC Offensive Lineman: Birmingham News

Malcolm Johnson
Mackey Award Watch List
All-SEC: Athlon Sports (Third Team)

Jameon Lewis
All-SEC: Phil Steele (Second Team)

Benardrick McKinney
Bednarik Award Watch List
Butkus Award Watch List
All-SEC: Phil Steele (Second Team), Athlon Sports (Third Team)
No. 8 “Craziest Athlete in College Football” by

LaDarius Perkins
Maxwell Award Watch List
Doak Walker Award Watch List
All-SEC: Athlon Sports (Second Team), Birmingham News (Second Team), Phil Steele (Second Team),  SEC Media (Second Team)

Tyler Russell
Maxwell Award Watch List
Davey O’Brien Award Watch List
Walter Camp Award Watch List

Deontae Skinner
Butkus Award Watch List

Baker Swedenburg
All-SEC: Phil Steele (Third Team)

Nickoe Whitley
Bronko Nagurski Trophy Watch List
All-SEC: Athlon Sports (Second Team), Phil Steele (Second Team)           


Distance Ed- Earn Degree
Columbus Orthopaedic
Maroon Friday - Aspen Bay
Penn's Maroon Friday
Maroon Friday - Cake Box
Maroon Friday - Iupe's
Maroon Friday - William Wells Tire
Maroon Friday - Libby Story
Maroon Friday - Cappe's
Maroon Friday - The Little Dooey
Maroon Friday - Firehouse Subs
Maroon Friday - Juva Juice
Maroon Friday - Shipley's
Maroon Friday - Stagger In
Maroon Friday - Stromboli's
Maroon Friday - Dave's Darkhorse Tavern
Maroon Friday - Deep South Pout
Maroon Friday - Northeast Mississippi Exterminating
Jimmy Johns Maroon Friday
Maroon Friday - Old Venice
MSU Athletics
Best Western
Dawg House
Farm Bureau
Gray Daniels
MSU Athletics
Prime Sport Travel Packages
Vivid Seats