MSU Places 47 Student-Athletes On SEC First-Year Academic Honor Roll

Share on Fancred
Send this article to a friend Print RSS

Photo Courtesy of

STARKVILLE, Miss. – Mississippi State placed a total of 47 student-athletes on the 2012-13 Southeastern Conference First-Year Academic Honor Roll, the league office announced Monday.

MSU’s 47 honorees are the fourth-most student-athletes on the list, in the sports in which State competes. 

The football and soccer teams each contributed seven players, while the baseball team added six. The Bulldogs also had four honorees each from the men’s tennis, volleyball and men’s track & field programs. Women’s golf added another three members along with softball and women’s track & field. Women’s tennis and men’s basketball each tacked on two members, while men’s golf and women’s basketball had one each.

MSU trailed only South Carolina (72), Alabama (66) and Kentucky (55) on the list and finished ahead of Missouri (41), Ole Miss (40), Tennessee and Georgia (38), Arkansas (37), Florida (36), Vanderbilt (34), Texas A&M (22), LSU (17) and Auburn (16) in the sports in which Mississippi State competes.

Mississippi State First-Year Academic Honor Roll Selections

Derrick Armstrong - Kinesiology
Alex Detz - Communication
Daniel Garner - Business Administration
Brett Pirtle - Business Administration
Zach Randolph - Kinesiology
John Marc Shelly - Business Administration

Men’s Basketball
Trivante Bloodman - Management
Jacoby Davis - Business Administration

Women’s Basketball
Jessy Ward - Kinesiology

Devon Bell - Kinesiology
Richie Brown - Industrial Technology
Ryan Brown - Business Administration
Cole Carter - Kinesiology
Torrey Dale - Kinesiology
Devon Desper - Business Administration
Brandon Holloway - Kinesiology

Men’s Golf
Ben Wood - Chemical Engineering

Women’s Golf
Blaise Carabello - Business Administration
Logan Chaney - Criminology
Gabi Oubre' - Business Administration

Honeye Heydari - Kinesiology
Gracie Irby - Elementary Education
Shelby Jordan - Kinesiology
Shannon Palmer - Biochemistry
Mary Kathryn Taylor - Kinesiology
Addie Tomlin - Pre-Accounting
Sasha Vrany - Economics

Loryn Nichols - Undeclared
Jacey Punches - Human Sciences
Kayla Winkfield - Kinesiology

Men’s Tennis
Jordan Angus - Management
Romain Bogaerts - Business Administration
Pedro Dumont - Undeclared
Stefan Vinti - Business Administration

Women’s Tennis
Sarai Flores - Psychology
Lien Van Geel - Foreign Language

Men’s Track & Field
Luke Hargreaves - Economics
Brandon McBride - Business Administration
Andrew Monaghan - Kinesiology
Patrick Monaghan - Kinesiology

Women’s Track & Field
Fabienne Amrhein - Psychology
Sydney Rodkey - Criminology
Madison Milhoan - Biological Sciences

Roxanne McVey - Finance
Sarah Nielsen - Psychology
Taylor Scott - Kinesiology
Alex Warren - History


Best Western Baseball 2015
Distance Ed- Earn Degree
Columbus Orthopaedic
Maroon Friday - Aspen Bay
Jimmy Johns Maroon Friday
Maroon Friday - Cake Box
Maroon Friday - Iupe's
Maroon Friday - William Wells Tire
Maroon Friday - Libby Story
Maroon Friday - Cappe's
Maroon Friday - The Little Dooey
Maroon Friday - Firehouse Subs
Maroon Friday - Juva Juice
Maroon Friday - Shipley's
Maroon Friday - Stagger In
Maroon Friday - Stromboli's
Maroon Friday - Dave's Darkhorse Tavern
Maroon Friday - Deep South Pout
Maroon Friday - Northeast Mississippi Exterminating
Maroon Friday - Old Venice
MSU Athletics
Best Western
Dawg House
Farm Bureau
Gray Daniels
MSU Athletics
Vivid Seats