Davis Wade Stadium Expansion
Davis Wade Stadium Expansion
Article Image
Day is considered a top returning center nationally.
View larger
Courtesy: hailstate.com

Dillon Day Named To 2013 Rimington Trophy Watch List

Share on Fancred
Send this article to a friend
May 21, 2013

STARKVILLE, Miss. – For the second-consecutive season, Mississippi State junior center Dillon Day was named to the Rimington Trophy Spring Watch List, the Rimington Trophy committee announced Tuesday. Day is one of 17 returning players from last season’s watch list for the prestigious trophy, given annually to the most outstanding center in college football. There are 44 total players on the list, including a conference-best nine from the Southeastern Conference.

The Maroon and White’s starting center for the last 21 games, Day was one of just eight sophomores named to last year’s watch list. The West Monroe, La., native finished his 2012 sophomore campaign grading out a champion in 10 of 13 contests, anchoring an offensive line which gave up the third-fewest amount of sacks in the SEC. Day was also essential in blocking for All-SEC performer LaDarius Perkins, who became the ninth player in school history to rush for over 1,000 yards.

Should Day win the trophy, he will be honored at the Rimington Trophy Presentation banquet at the Rococo Theater in Lincoln, Neb., on Jan. 11, 2014. For more information on Day and the MSU football program, follow the program on Twitter at @MStateFB and like the team on Facebook at Facebook.com/MStateFB.

About the Rimington Trophy
The Rimington Trophy is presented annually to the Most Outstanding Center in NCAA Division I-A College Football. Since its inception, the Rimington Trophy has raised over $2 million. The fourteen-year old award is overseen by the Boomer Esiason Foundation, which is committed to finding a cure for cystic fibrosis and has raised over $100 million for CF Research.

Dave Rimington, the award's namesake, was a consensus first-team All-America center at the University of Nebraska in 1981 and 1982, during which time he became the John Outland Trophy's only double winner as the nation's finest college interior lineman. For more on the Rimington Trophy and a list of past recipients, visit www.rimingtontrophy.com.

Alfa Insurance
Farm Bureau Insurance
CSS Sports