Baseball mm
Article Image
Junior outfielder Hunter Renfroe has been named a finalist for the 2013 C Spire Ferriss Trophy by the Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame.
View larger
Courtesy: Bill Simmonds

Renfroe Finalist For C Spire Ferriss Trophy

Share on Fancred
Send this article to a friend
May 13, 2013
STARKVILLE, Miss. - Mississippi State junior outfielder Hunter Renfroe has been named by the Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame and Museum as one of five finalists for the 2013 C Spire Ferriss Trophy.

The trophy is presented to the state’s most outstanding collegiate baseball player and named in honor of former Mississippi State and Boston Red Sox hall of fame pitcher and Delta State University coaching legend Dave “Boo” Ferriss.

This year’s recipient will be announced Monday, May 20 in Jackson, Miss., during an 11:15 a.m. luncheon at the Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame and Museum. The other finalists for the award include Delta State pitcher John Branstetter, Southern Miss pitcher Andrew Pierce, and Ole Miss pitcher/catching duo Stuart Turner and Bobby Wahl.

Renfroe, from Crystal Springs, Miss., sports a .390 batting average and leads the Southeastern Conference with 15 home runs (tied for fifth-most in the NCAA) and a .750 slugging percentage. He has compiled the third-highest batting average in the league and ranks third in the SEC with 51 RBI. He is among 60 semi-finalists for the 2013 Golden Spikes Award.

The Bulldog outfielder becomes the seventh Diamond Dog selected as a Ferriss Trophy finalist since the award’s inception in 2004. Renfroe joins past MSU finalists Brad Corley (2005), Thomas Berkery (2006), Ed Easley (2007), Connor Powers (2010), Jarrod Parks (2011) and Chris Stratton (2012). Berkery, Easley and Stratton won the award.

A limited number of tickets ($35) for Monday’s 11:15 a.m. buffet luncheon and awards presentation are available through the Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame and Museum (601-982-8264).

C Spire Wireless, sponsor of the Ferriss Trophy, is also the sponsor for football’s Conerly Trophy and basketball's Howell and Gillom Trophies in Mississippi.

MORE Baseball

Mississippi State Baseball Camps - Baseball Gear
Alfa Insurance
Farm Bureau Insurance
CSS Sports