Bulldog Golfers Ramey, Boasson Earn All-SEC Honors

Share on Fancred
Print RSS

Chad Ramey (front) earned first team All-SEC honors, while Axel Boasson (above) was named to the second team.
Photo Courtesy of hailstate.com

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. – Juniors Chad Ramey and Axel Boasson added to an already successful Mississippi State men’s golf season by being named to the 2013 All-Southeastern Conference teams.

Ramey, who picked up a second-team honor last year, was named to the first team this season. Boasson earned second team accolades after putting together his best year at MSU.

“This is such a great honor for both our golf program and these two young men,” head coach Clay Homan said. “You are in elite company when you are recognized among the best in the SEC. They are two of the many leaders we have on this team, and we all share in their accolades. We are proud of what they have been able to accomplish both on and off the course.”

Ramey’s first-team selection is the first for the Bulldogs since Alex Rocha in 2000.

State’s two All-SEC selections are the most since the 1999 season when Rocha and Ben Smith claimed the honor. MSU was one of five schools to have mutiple players named to the squads.

Both Ramey and Boasson picked up SEC Player of the Week accolades this year, the most in a season for the program.

The All-SEC squads were selected by a vote of the league’s coaches.

Homan’s squad will wait to see where it lands in the postseason during the NCAA Selection Show that will be held May 6 at 8 p.m. State will be seeking to make its first NCAA Regional appearance since the 2008-2009 season.

Fans can follow the Mississippi State men’s golf program through Facebook (facebook.com/mstateMG) and Twitter (@mstateMG).

2013 All-SEC Men's Golf Teams

Coach of the Year

Jay Seawell, Alabama

Golfer of the Year
Cory Whitsett, Alabama

Scholar-Athlete of the Year
Austin Cook, Arkansas
Hunter Kraus, Missouri
Cory Whitsett, Alabama

Freshman of the Year
Taylor Moore, Arkansas
Matt NeSmith, South Carolina

First Team All-SEC
Sebastian Cappelen, Arkansas
(SEC Championship Medalist)
Bobby Wyatt, Alabama
Justin Thomas, Alabama
Cory Whitsett, Alabama
Jace Long, Missouri
Tyler McCumber, Florida
Chad Ramey, Mississippi State
Oliver Goss, Tennessee
T.J. Mitchell, Georgia
Curtis Thompson, LSU

Second Team All-SEC
Andrew Presley, LSU
Nicholas Reach, Georgia
Dykes Harbin, South Carolina
Axel Boasson, Mississippi State
Trey Millinax, Alabama
Michael Hebert, Auburn
T.J. Vogel, Florida
Andrew Evans, Texas A&M

Freshman All-SEC
Taylor Moore, Arkansas
Matt NeSmith, South Carolina
Oliver Goss, Tennessee
Lee McCoy, Georgia
Jake Mondy, Auburn

Uploaded Ad
Maroon Friday - William Wells Tire
Maroon Friday - Firehouse Subs
Maroon Friday - Stromboli's
Maroon Friday - Northeast Mississippi Exterminating
Jimmy Johns Maroon Friday
Maroon Friday - Brian Michael's
Copy Cow
Hungry Howies
Aspen Bay
Maroon Friday - Deep South Pout
Penn's Maroon Friday
MSU Athletics
Best Western
Farm Bureau
Gray Daniels
MSU Athletics
Prime Sport Travel Packages
Vivid Seats