Bulldog Relay Team Finishes First In Texas

Share on Fancred
Send this article to a friend Print RSS

Tavaris Tate, Brandon McBride, Daundre Barnaby and Randy Patterson teamed up to win the men's 4x400-meter relay in Austin.
Photo Courtesy of hailstate.com

AUSTIN, Texas – Shaving three seconds off its qualifying speed, the Mississippi State 4x400-meter relay team posted a time of 3:05.35 to win the event on Saturday at the 86th Clyde Littlefield Texas Relays.

The foursome included Tavaris Tate, Brandon McBride, Daundre Barnaby and Randy Patterson as the Maroon and White crossed the finish line in front of the pack.

“I’m thankful and grateful for having a group of guys who I could connect with and put things together in the race,” Tate said.

After earning runner-up honors in the high jump at the 2013 NCAA Indoor National Championships earlier this month, Marcus Jackson cleared 7-05.25 in Saturday’s competition at Mike A. Myers Stadium. His performance placed him in second, only behind 2012 Olympic bronze medalist Derek Drouin of Indiana.

Meanwhile, Nathan Arnett clocked a 13.94 in the 110-meter hurdles finals to finish ninth, and Lady Bulldog Chloe Phillips grabbed an 11th-place finish in the women’s 1500-meter run with a time of 4:30.17.

To close out women’s action, Jody-Ann Muir, Kanishia Carey, Erica Bougard and Brittney Covington landed a spot in sixth in the 4x400-meter relay finals. The quartet posted a time of 3:39.05.

“Our athletes proved themselves today," MSU coach Steve Dudley said. “They performed at the top of their game, and at the end of the day, they were rewarded for it. If we can keep this momentum going, then I am anxious to see where the rest of the season goes."

MSU will return to Starkville and begin preparation for the Alabama Invite, which is set for April 6 in Tuscaloosa.

For more updates on the Bulldogs, follow the track and field team on Twitter (@msutracksarah).

Day Four Results


1500m Run (Section A): Josephine Adams, North Texas, 4:19.09

MSU: 11. Chloe Phillips, 4:30.17 

4x400m Relay Finals: Elite Performance TC, 3:29.91

MSU: 6. Muir, Carey, Bougard, Covington, 3:39.05


High Jump: Derek Drouin, Indiana, 7-06.50

MSU: 2. Marcus Jackson, 7-05.25

110m Hurdles Finals: Johnathan Cabral, Oregon, 13.33

MSU: 9. Nathan Arnett, 13.94 

4x400m Relay Finals: Mississippi State, 3:05.35

Tate, McBride, Barnaby, Patterson


Best Western Baseball 2015
Distance Ed- Earn Degree
Columbus Orthopaedic
Maroon Friday - Aspen Bay
Maroon Friday - Northeast Mississippi Exterminating
Maroon Friday - Cake Box
Maroon Friday - Iupe's
Maroon Friday - William Wells Tire
Maroon Friday - Libby Story
Maroon Friday - Cappe's
Maroon Friday - The Little Dooey
Maroon Friday - Firehouse Subs
Maroon Friday - Juva Juice
Maroon Friday - Shipley's
Maroon Friday - Stagger In
Maroon Friday - Stromboli's
Maroon Friday - Dave's Darkhorse Tavern
Maroon Friday - Deep South Pout
Maroon Friday - Old Venice
MSU Athletics
Best Western
Dawg House
Farm Bureau
Gray Daniels
MSU Athletics
Vivid Seats