Gabe Jackson And Josh Boyd Named To Outland Trophy Watch List

Share on Fancred
Print RSS

The third oldest award in major college football is given to the best interior lineman in college football.
Photo Courtesy of

STARKVILLE, Miss. - After being named to the 2012 preseason Coaches All-SEC team earlier in the day, Mississippi State junior offensive lineman Gabe Jackson and senior defensive tackle Josh Boyd were named to the Outland Trophy Watch List, the Football Writers Association of America announced Thursday. The third oldest award in major college football is given annually since 1946 to the best interior lineman in college football.

Jackson was named to the prestigious list on his 21st birthday after earning the start at left guard in all 13 games last season, tallying a team-high 67 takedowns. In addition to the Outland Trophy Watch List and the SEC Coaches team, the 2011 sophomore All-America selection has been named preseason All-SEC this summer by Athlon, Phil Steele and the Birmingham News. As the anchor of the offensive line in 2011, Jackson helped the Maroon and White reach the top 10 in school history for single-season marks in passing touchdowns, passing completions, total yards and first downs.

Of the 71 players on the watch list, Boyd was one of only 18 defensive tackles to selected. A member of Athlon and Phil Steele's 2012 preseason All-SEC team, the Philadelphia, Miss., native recorded 51 tackles in 2011, including 8.0 tackles for loss and 4.5 sacks. Boyd dominated the top two teams in college football from a year ago, racking up 18 tackles and 2.0 tackles for loss combined against national champion Alabama (Nov. 12, 2011) and national runner-up LSU (Sept. 15, 2011).

The Outland Trophy winner is chosen from three finalists who are part of the FWAA All-America Team. The FWAA All-America Committee, after voting input from the entire membership, selects the 25-man team and eventually the three Outland finalists to be named on Nov. 19. Committee members, then by individual ballot, select the winner.

The winner of the 67th Outland Trophy, named after the late John Outland, an All-America lineman at Penn and Kansas at the turn of the century, will be announced on The Home Depot College Football Awards on Dec. 6 on ESPN. The Outland Trophy presentation banquet, sponsored by the Greater Omaha Sports Committee, will be held on Jan. 10, 2013, in Omaha, Neb.

For more information on Jackson, Boyd and the rest of the MSU football program, follow the program on Twitter at @MStateFB and like the team on Facebook at

Josh Boyd's 2012 Preseason Honors

Outland Trophy Watch List
All-SEC Second Team (Defense): Athlon
All-SEC Third Team (Defense): SEC Coaches, Phil Steele

Gabe Jackson's 2012 Preseason Honors

Outland Trophy Watch List
All-SEC Second Team (Offense): SEC Coaches, Athlon, Phil Steele, Birmingham News


Uploaded Ad
Maroon Friday - William Wells Tire
Maroon Friday - Firehouse Subs
Maroon Friday - Stromboli's
Maroon Friday - Northeast Mississippi Exterminating
Jimmy Johns Maroon Friday
Maroon Friday - Brian Michael's
Copy Cow
Hungry Howies
Aspen Bay
Maroon Friday - Deep South Pout
Penn's Maroon Friday
MSU Athletics
Best Western
Farm Bureau
Gray Daniels
MSU Athletics
Prime Sport Travel Packages
Vivid Seats