Stratton Named Semifinalist For Dick Howser Trophy

Share on Fancred
Send this article to a friend Print RSS

Chris Stratton
Photo Courtesy of

STARKVILLE, Miss. - Mississippi State pitcher Chris Stratton is one of 35 semifinalists for the 2012 Dick Howser Trophy, the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association announced Friday. It's the 26th year for the national player of the year award presented by Easton Foundations.

With a 3-1 win over No. 2 Kentucky Friday night, Stratton (10-1, 2.16) became the SEC's first 10-game winner this season and the first Bulldog pitcher to reach 10 wins since current Chicago Cubs hurler Paul Maholm notched a 10-3 worksheet in 2002. Earlier this week the right-hander rom Tupelo, Miss., was named the recipient of the ninth annual C Spire/Ferriss Trophy presented by the Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame and Museum to the top collegiate player in Mississippi.

The Howser Trophy is named in honor of former Florida State All-America shortstop and major league player and manager. The recipient of this year's trophy will be announced June 15 at TD Ameritrade Stadium in Omaha, Neb., in conjunction with the 2012 NCAA College World Series. The list of semifinalists includes candidate from 17 different conference and 32 different schools. Stratton is one of five semifinalists representing the Southeastern Conference.




Pos. Name, School

Mark Appel, P, Stanford

Robert Benincasa, RP, Florida State

Sean Bignall, OF, Arkansas-Little Rock

Trent Blank, P, Baylor

Austin Elkins, 2B, Dallas Baptist

Goose Kallunki, 1B, Utah Valley

Marty Gantt, OF, College of Charleston

Marco Gonzales, UT, Gonzaga

Andrew Heaney, P, Oklahoma State

Brock Hebert, 2B, Southeastern Louisiana

D.J. Hicks, 1B, UCF

Daniel Kassouf, DH, Appalachian State

Stefan Lopez, RP, Southeastern Louisiana

Michael Lorenzen, UT, Cal State Fullerton

Josh Ludy, C, Baylor

Luke Maile, C, Kentucky

Jamodrick McGruder, 2B, Texas Tech

Trenton Moses, 3B, Southeast Missouri

Chris O'Grady, RP, George Mason

D.J. Petersen, 3B, New Mexico

Nick Petree, P, Missouri State

Kevin Plawecki, C, Purdue

Danny Poma, OF, Hofstra

James Ramsey, OF, Florida State

Matthew Reckling, P, Rice

Carlos Rodon, P, NC State

Chris Rowley, P, Army

Raph Rhymes, OF, LSU

Zach Stephens, 1B, Tennessee Tech

Chris Stratton, P, Mississippi State

Ross Stripling, P, Texas A&M

Michael Wacha, P, Texas A&M

Michael Wagner, RP, San Diego

Alex Yarbrough, 2B, Ole Miss

Mike Zunino, C, Florida




Best Western Baseball 2015
Distance Ed- Earn Degree
Columbus Orthopaedic
Maroon Friday - Aspen Bay
Maroon Friday - Northeast Mississippi Exterminating
Maroon Friday - Cake Box
Maroon Friday - Iupe's
Maroon Friday - William Wells Tire
Maroon Friday - Libby Story
Maroon Friday - Cappe's
Maroon Friday - The Little Dooey
Maroon Friday - Firehouse Subs
Maroon Friday - Juva Juice
Maroon Friday - Shipley's
Maroon Friday - Stagger In
Maroon Friday - Stromboli's
Maroon Friday - Dave's Darkhorse Tavern
Maroon Friday - Deep South Pout
Maroon Friday - Old Venice
MSU Athletics
Best Western
Dawg House
Farm Bureau
Gray Daniels
MSU Athletics
Vivid Seats