Davis Wade Stadium Expansion
Davis Wade Stadium Expansion
Article Image
2010 Conerly Trophy recipient Chris White and head coach Dan Mullen.
View larger
Courtesy: hailstate.com

White Wins Conerly Trophy As Mississippi's Top College Football Player

Share on Fancred
Send this article to a friend
November 30, 2010
JACKSON, Miss. – Mississippi State senior linebacker Chris White was awarded the Conerly Trophy Tuesday evening as the top collegiate football player in the state of Mississippi. The presentation was made at the Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame & Museum in Jackson.

White becomes the fourth Mississippi State player since the award’s inception in 1996 to win and the second straight, following Anthony Dixon who was honored with the award last season. The other two Mississippi State players to take home the honor were J.J. Johnson in 1998 and Jerious Norwood in 2005.

Mississippi State becomes first school in 15-year history of the Conerly to win back-to-back awards.

White, from Vancleave, Miss., has totaled 105 tackles this season which ranks fourth in the Southeastern Conference. The senior also ranked fourth in the conference in tackles for loss with 15.5 while ranking eighth in sacks with 6.0.

White had five double-digit tackle games this season including four straight against Houston, Florida, UAB and Kentucky. He became the first Mississippi State player to record four consecutive double-digit tackle games since Dominic Douglas did so in 2008.


Alfa Insurance
Farm Bureau Insurance
CSS Sports